Animals Know God

The young lions roar after their prey, and seek their meat from God. (Ps 104:21, KJV)

Wilt thou hunt the prey for the lion? or fill the appetite of the young lions (Job 38:39)

Who provideth for the raven his food? when his young ones cry unto God, they wander for lack of meat. (Job 38:41)

How many times have I read those verses? How many times I thought “It’s just the way they spoke in those days”?  How many times have I thought it just to be poetry?

Although on the surface it does show  how God cares, even for the animals. I never really ponder or meditate on it.

After all, many Christians in my early years believed that animals don’t have feelings. It’s OK to keep them in cages. It’s OK to use them for whatever you want to.  Even as a child I didn’t really “buy” it, but I was told that we have dominion over them and can pretty much do as we please. (I grew up as a Christian in a Christian environment)

Thank God there is a change of heart happening!

It was in my later years, when I spent more time in nature, the African Bush, that my connection with nature grew. I’m not sure how it happened. It just did.

… and one day it changed everything I thought I believe about nature…

On a bush walk on hot summer afternoon in 2000, I was praising God for the natural diversity. I got the “nudge” to softly put my hands around a Mopani leave. What happened next changed my view and beliefs on nature FOREVER!

Suddenly in my minds eye, I could see how the liquids flow up and down to its destinations, I could see the “flesh” of the tree grows as it got bigger! It was as if God took me through a journey to understand the absolute intelligence in the tree. The struggles it had to overcome and survive.  How “grateful” it was when it rained.  It was a few moments and my spirit became overflown with joy!  Everything in me knew “God is a good God!”. I felt both peace and joy on a level out of this world.

Well, needless to say, the church didn’t teach anything like this. My first question when I got home was “Isn’t this the works of the devil?” …. Then I thought “It can’t be!…. It was a heavenly experience!”  The tug-of-war started. Was it from God? Was it the devil? What happened? How can the devil provide something like this? Where is a scripture I can refer to? What do I do? Am I losing it? Who can I talk to and won’t ridicule me? Should I visit the doctor? Maybe something is wrong with me? (Latter a question to be repeated until today!)

Speaking to a few people, I only got the “Go to the doctor” look or they said “the devil can also present himself as/in light”.

In a “normal” carnal and very Christian world, I felt lost and confused.

The experience urged me to search for explanations. Not one of my Christian bible study books gave me any answers.

My search through non-denominational spiritual literature started.  It was a pull as strong as gravity.

One of the first books I read was “the Celestine Prophecy” by James Redfield. I was “hooked” and realised neither the doctors nor Christianity is going to provide me answers.

In 2015 I was “pulled” back towards Jesus and the Christian faith. My first question was “God what about nature, do I have to drop all my beliefs about it, do I have to go back to belief that nature is just something we can “use”, that it’s there for our benefit? That our dominion allows us to destroy, blow-up whatever we want to?”

I was in a heated debate with Jesus … this was one of the struggling points that kept me from “getting involved” with Christianity for 15 years.

I opened my bible. It was Psalm 104.  GOD ANSWERED ME:

19He appointed the moon for seasons: the sun knoweth his going down.

20Thou makest darkness, and it is night: wherein all the beasts of the forest do creep forth.

21The young lions roar after their prey, and seek their meat from God.

22The sun ariseth, they gather themselves together, and lay them down in their dens.

23Man goeth forth unto his work and to his labour until the evening.

24O LORD, how manifold are thy works! in wisdom hast thou made them all: the earth is full of thy riches.

25So is this great and wide sea, wherein are things creeping innumerable, both small and great beasts.

26There go the ships: there is that leviathan, whom thou hast made to play therein.

27These wait all upon thee; that thou mayest give them their meat in due season.

28That thou givest them they gather: thou openest thine hand, they are filled with good.

29Thou hidest thy face, they are troubled: thou takest away their breath, they die, and return to their dust.

30Thou sendest forth thy spirit, they are created: and thou renewest the face of the earth.

31The glory of the LORD shall endure for ever: the LORD shall rejoice in his works.

It shows us more about the interaction between God and His creation. Animals know God and God knows His animals. His creation is “the glory of the LORD”! It also glimpse on the ways God wants us to view the creation … all of it.

Since then, the Lord has taken me on a journey through His word, showing me, teaching me just how He wants His children to view and interact with “His works”. This time within the Christian faith.

(Read your bible through the eyes and wisdom of a child)

14642128_10154023801442643_4427633913793756872_n

