What am I being saved from?

“But he turned, and rebuked them, and said, Ye know not what manner of spirit ye are of.” ~Luk 9:55

We are born with a sinful nature. A nature that is set on auto pilot to rebel against God and to destroy His works. It was passed through genealogy, through thousand of years from Adam and Eve. If you were born on earth, you have this trait, whether you like it or not.  It’s called “human nature”.

If we weren’t born with a sinful nature, we won’t tell white lies, get angry, be short-tempered nor end up in arguments, get road rage, have narcissistic tendencies nor an over-inflated ego, be self-righteous, be demanding, complaining or criticizing or even just have a “wrong” thought (a sinful thought). The list is long.

You wouldn’t have been able to even think thoughts of  criticism like “O, I don’t like that person” or “Geez, she’s fat. Can’t she look after herself?” None such thoughts would have existed.

I have it. You have it. Accept it. Humanity is no godly race.

If we were a Godly race, we’ll be living in Eden, the paradise,  in immortal and transfigured bodies and wouldn’t have known concepts as sickness, death, poverty, divorce, abuse, murder … again the list is long.

When the disciples wanted to destroy the Samaritan village, with “fire to come down from heaven, and consume them, even as Elias did” He rebuked them and asked them if they don’t know from which spirit they operate?

What spirit operate in revenge? What spirit will just start destruction if not pleased with an outcome? What spirit planted the seed of destruction and murder, for a few moments in their minds to want them to act it out ?

What did Jesus say?

He said to the Pharisees “Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.” (John 8:44)

How is the devil a murderer?

When Adam and Eve committed the original sin (pride, self-righteousness, know-it-all people), the effect of that sin was death. It brought a spiritual and physical death and decay on all things. (Read the first paragraphs again).

It caused humanity to go on a destructive cause and it has an effect on His creation too.

His creation in which He rejoice (Ps 104:31) and find pleasure in. (Rev 4:11).

And yet, He rebuked them and said:

“For the Son of man is not come to destroy men’s lives, but to save them. And they went to another village”. ~ Luk9:56

He loved us first.  He always loved us. He is love. He is merciful. Despite all our ignorance, blind eyes and ears, He was crucified to save humanity. He wore all our transgressions and inequities on the cross.

2 Tim 2:4 “… God our Savior, who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus”.

An important thing to understand is that we were created to make our own choices. (Very democratic?) Even Adam and Eve had a choice. Although God wants all of His children to be saved, He won’t force it upon you. He won’t “zap” your eyes open so that you suddenly understand. We have to make a choice, realise our own limitation and ASK for forgiveness. Like everything else we ask of Him. “Give us this day our daily bread”  Nothing is gonna happen unless we ASK, turn from foolish destructive ways with a burning desire from the heart. Because He loved me first, I love Him.

But then … nothing is going to happen if you don’t recognise the lie you’ve been born in as well.

Exactly what am I being saved from?

The lie…. the destruction of the devil, the spiritual death, spiritual blind eyes and my spiritual deaf ears, my own self-destructive forces I’ve been born with.

Something so deep in me happened, when I realized I can’t do this “life” (trying to be a godly person, overcoming challenges) in own strength. A cry from deep within my soul, when every cell in my body surrendered to Him, when I fell into a level of humility to let go of everything I’ve imagined myself to be and know, with no pride left standing, because all is lost, therefore all is needed… and by Divine intervention from God, ONLY then I grasped what Jesus did. What really happened on the cross.

In that moment my spirit was reborn by God. I haven’t left His feet since. I chose to let Him guide my thoughts. I chose to live in total surrender. I chose for His spirit to work in and through me. I actually want to call it a “mystical” experience, because words can’t give it clarity. You’ll know when it happens, there’s no doubt about it.

In Gal 5:22 We read about the fruits of the Holy Spirit: “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance”. Paul urged us to walk in Spirit. (Gal 5:16~This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fullfil the lust of the flesh.)

It’s a constant process of renewing my mind. I believe I live with Christ in me. (1/3 of me, my spirit is already made holy as God intended it to be! and live in Christ)

“I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” Gal 2:20.

Through, grace and faith in the power of Christ and the Holy Spirit that is working in me, I am overcoming the works of the liar, the murderer, the devil …  not just to be able to go to heaven, but to live victoriously in this, current, earthly life whilst I know I’m part of the coming age… the new earth as an immortal being  in the presence of God for eternity.

I’ve heard many times “when you meet Jesus”….. I’ve met Him! It is a transforming experience! These truths can’t be understood on an intellectual level. It happens when your dead spirit is reborn from God. When the original intention that God had for you, is restored in your spirit. (Your spirit is not your soul). Your spirit receives life from God, His “breath” through this rebirth.  When this happens you’ll know the difference. This isn’t based on “knowledge”. It’s based in the experience, through faith and grace.

I’m staying right at His feet.  I believe it’s a personal journey with God, to really get to KNOW Him. I believe my spirit is reborn by God and already part of Christ.

My mind (in the carnal world) has to be constantly renewed to let all of Him manifest in the current physical world through me. Hallelujah!

Praise God and thank you Jesus!

