Preach the Gospel to Every Creature

“And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” ~ Mark 16:15

Phil 2:13 “For it is God who works in you to will and to act on behalf of His good pleasure.”

Rom 6:16 “Do you not know that when you continually offer yourselves to someone to do his will, you are the slaves of the one whom you obey”

God created the creation for His pleasure (Rev 4:11) and  He rejoice in His works. Ps 104:31 (b)….

“And every creature which is in heaven, and on the earth, and under the earth, and such as are in the sea, and all that are in them, heard I saying, Blessing, and honour, and glory, and power, be unto him that sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb for ever and ever.” ~ Rev 5:13

“Preach the gospel to every creature”

What? It must be a mistake! It’s not “human” or “Jew” or “Gentile” or “heathen” or “people”. It clearly says “CREATURE”.

I searched various translations. Some say “creature” others say “all creation”.

I’ve read this since childhood. My understanding wasn’t “creature” nor “creation”. Nobody in christian circles told me I should preach to creation.

I hear a “the voice” speaking in my mind:

“Don’t read you bible with preconceived ideas”.

What a lesson. This couldn’t be more clear! Everything I’ve come to understand the past 18 years is encapsulated in that one verse. How could I’ve missed it?  How can anyone miss it?

I phoned a Christian friend. “Is my interpretation of this correct?” He confirmed.

I’m blown away. First because I’ve misread it. Second why aren’t Christians not talking about it? This was one huge struggling point in my return to Christianity.!

Since the day on the mine dumps,  an outlook in a small town close to Kruger National Park ( 1997/1998), when I suddenly got a heartfelt sadness when I saw the contradiction between nature and mans’ defacement thereof, the same “voice” told me that we shouldn’t be doing it, because “things” below the surface is as they are for a reason only God understands, since that day, I’ve been pulled and guided to look at Gods creation with a new pair of eyes. It’s His glory manifested on earth. (I’m not referring to pantheism.)

Whilst searching for truth during a period of 15 years, my “connection” and understanding of nature grew.  I realized the days I spent in nature, just enjoying it for what it is, Gods glory and magnificence, the praise and worship was on another level than in buildings. God lifted me up to levels of joy, peace and love that weren’t possible during normal day to day activities.

I started to “sense” elephants in the river.  At first it was strange! “Am, I losing it?” I drove to the river to verify my “senses”.

abide-in-me

Whenever I went for walks, I was in communion with God, I had a chat to the trees, the ants….. I’ve come to understand that St. Francis did the same. I won’t say I was as well trained as him… bit still, you get the idea.

My Achilles heal is nature. Many times I wanted to get involved with NPO organisations, but I lose it when someone just mentions they want to hunt a prime eland bull!

There is this magnificent creature God created. He is in the prime of his life. Horns that took how many years to grow? He probably survived droughts, heat, snakes…. and you want to kill it just for the trophy! With a wink of the eye you want to wipe it from the face of the earth? What “logic” is that? When He rejoice in His works. Ps 104:31 (b) and He is omnipresent. Which means, He is also present with such an act.

Reading through reports of poaching, unethical breeding practices brings me into an unloving place. I manifest anger in a way that is a danger to myself. I’ll end up in jail.  I can handle many things, but the cruelty and selfishness of humans towards Gods’ creation…. Lately I am wondering if it isn’t Holy Anger that’s rising up in me.

I view the unnecessary destruction on all levels, emotional, physical, spiritual, as the  spirit of the “father the devil”, like Jesus called it in (John 8:44). Sadly we were born in/with it. But we have a choice to rid ourselves from it when we realize this and turn to Jesus for our salvation.

When we offer ourselves to the Holy Spirit, (living sacrifice), God works in us to will and to act on behalf of His good pleasure.( Phil 2:13).

Is it then fair to say that in the act of worship and praise in nature, God works through us to facilitate or bring healing to His creation?

Every creature will glorify the Lamb according to Rev 5:13

In Romans 8 Paul made the following statement that clearly shows how creation is waiting for us to realize who we are in Christ, after our spirit has been reborn by God:  (please watch the video of Derek Prince in the sidebar).

19The creation waits in eager expectation for the revelation of the sons of God.

20For the creation was subjected to futility, not by its own will, but because of the One who subjected it, in hope

21that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.

22We know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until the present time.

Even Isaiah ministered to the creation :

“Sing, O ye heavens; for the LORD hath done it: shout, ye lower parts of the earth: break forth into singing, ye mountains, O forest, and every tree therein: for the LORD hath redeemed Jacob, and glorified himself in Israel” (Isa 44:23)

An extract from an article on arcapologetics.org

“Plato’s philosophy influenced the Gnostic view of the physical world that arose within the first-century Christian church. Followers of Gnosticism taught that the spiritual world contains all that is good, and that everything in the physical or material world is bad. Thus, under Gnosticism, nature would have a negative value and is something that should be disregarded in a person’s life.

Christians in the modern church who say that “the environment really doesn’t matter because it’s part of the physical world” are carrying on the heritage of Plato and the Gnostics.”

